Waiting on Wednesday (August 27)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that are eagerly anticipated.

This week, I’m waiting on Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang, which has an expected release date of September 9, 2014.

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

I’ve seen countless glowing reviews of this book, and the comparisons to If I Stay have definitely led to it being placed near the top of my to-read list. It sounds beautifully heart-wrenching, so I absolutely cannot wait to give it a read.

Which books are you waiting on? Leave me a link or a list to your Waiting on Wednesday post below.

Previous Post
Next Post

4 Comments

Leave a Reply to 1kerryodonnell

CommentLuv badge
%d bloggers like this: